Skip to content

Finding myself

January 3, 2014

In my last post I talked about my resolution to write more. And so I figured while I was still on the topic of New Year’s Resolutions I would share one more article that has truly had an impact on me lately.

Finding this article about 20 Things to Let Go of Before the New Year was such a nice surprise. I loved the article so much that I’ve posted it on practically every social media outlet I have so it just seems fitting that I mention it here as well.  One of things that I appreciated the most about this article was the fact that it is a great way to start the new year. Leaving behind old habits and negative thoughts is the perfect way to get a fresh start on the year.

My hope though is that this article will have more sticking power than that. My hope is that I’ll remember this article on those weak days, in those weak moments that will happen in the upcoming year. My hope is that it will all come back during those times, whether they be on day 273 when New Year’s Resolutions are the farthest thing from my mind or at 2am on a random night when I’ve had a little bit too much to drink. On any of those given time I want to remember the inspiration I felt when I read that list of 20 things. I want to remember what I am supposed to be leaving behind and remember the person I want to be.

It’s funny how reading something like that can evoke so much emotion. Reading that article made me want to be a better person but it also made me realize how much I missed writing.  It showed me that words on a page (or on a blog) can have such a huge impact.  Maybe not always for the reader but sometimes for the writer who just needs to see them laid out on a page.  It reminded me of a time when I felt that kind of comfort from my blog.  Back in the day when I had a blog community who read, commented, empathized or just existed.

Writing those posts back in the day were more for me than they were for anyone else.  Then something happened. I started to think that was wrong.  I started to think that writing needed to have impact on the reader. I started to think that everything I wrote needed to be something useful, inspiring, smart, or just be something other than what I could provide.  And it hindered my ability to produce content.  Mainly because I told myself that all my content wasn’t good enough.

I killed posts before I even finished them because they felt selfish, they felt like rants, they weren’t what I thought I was supposed to be writing.  It turns out that whatever I write is what I’m supposed to be writing.  Whatever comes out when I sit down and dedicate myself to writing is what is supposed to come out. Write more might be my resolution but I think what I’m looking to gain in the long run is more than that. I’m looking for my confidence.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2014 10:14 am

    “Writing those posts back in the day were more for me than they were for anyone else. Then something happened. I started to think that was wrong. I started to think that writing needed to have impact on the reader. I started to think that everything I wrote needed to be something useful, inspiring, smart, or just be something other than what I could provide. And it hindered my ability to produce content. Mainly because I told myself that all my content wasn’t good enough.”

    I understand what you mean entirely – and it took reading this to realize that’s how I think as well. I’m glad you found the article about writing 20 minutes a day in January because it inspired me to do the same as well! And I’m glad you’re back and writing – because I enjoy reading it even if it’s completely “selfish”!

Leave a Reply

