Skip to content

In Your Hands

January 26, 2013

In my last post I talked about my New Year’s Resolutions and one of them is to start living like a salesman. The idea for this resolution came from my year of working in sales. I never thought I would work in sales, or even like sales, prior to my job at Mattress Firm, but the truth is that I learned a lot and wouldn’t trade that experience for anything. While I can now talk your ear off about what mattress would best support your specific sleeping style, this post is not about that. During that year I learned a lot about sales in general, and it occurred to me that the things that make you a good salesman are lessons that can be applied to every day life. And that’s where this New Year’s Resolution came from.

There are several things I’m going to touch on when it comes to living like a salesman, but today is one of the most important aspects. As a commissioned salesman, you learn very quickly that the amount of your paycheck is completely in your hands. It’s a daily thought in your head. Each morning you have to make the decision to take control of your paycheck. In sales, customers will come in and no matter how great your pitch is or how many perks you throw their way, they are not going to buy from you today. The test comes not with that customer but with the next person who walks in your door. Will you face them with a defeated attitude or will you continue to push ahead with the same enthusiasm as you had before?

In life, we face a similar daily decision. Every day as we prepare to face the world we have the future in front of us, and the way we approach it is completely in our hands. It’s true that things will happen, road blocks will pop up and we will sometimes lose our way. However, the way we handle those situations is what will determine our future. The choice you make and the attitude you have are completely in your hands.

So I’m working to start living like a salesman. That includes making the conscious decision every day to take my life, and my future, into my own hands. It means realizing there will be easy days and long days and tough days, but I will face them all with the same approach – an attitude of unfailing optimism and a complete responsibility for my decisions.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

