Skip to content

Better Late than Never: My Resolutions

January 7, 2013

January Calendar Close up

Anyone who knows me knows that I love making lists. So naturally when it comes time to work on my list of New Year’s Resolutions, I’m generally filled with excitement. Most years I start my resolution planning about a month ahead of time, but for some reason this year got away from me. In fact, it’s taken me the entire week just to get my thoughts together. Now I’m finally ready to solidify my goals and create some sort of accountability by putting them in writing for everyone to see.

1) Run 1,000 miles – I stole this resolution from a co-worker. Last year he set this goal for himself because if you run 1,000 miles, you can say that you practically ran a 5k every day. While the actual number for a 5k a day is closer to 1100, I like keeping it a nice, easy to remember number.

2) Read every book in my personal library – During a recent cleaning frenzy, I realized that I have several books around my house that I have never finished reading or ever started reading for that matter. Over Christmas I began reading Atlas Shrugged…again…for the third time, but this time I am determined to finish it. Then I will conquer the rest of the books on my shelves.

3) Live like a salesman – This is more a life philosophy than anything else. You see, for just over a year I sold mattresses. Prior to that job I never thought I would work in sales, but I actually picked up some pretty good sales advice from some pretty amazing salesmen. What I realized is that the advice I got about how to make a sale were also generally good tips for living life. So I’m putting my focus into this for the next year. I’m sure there will be more posts on this to come.

How are your New Year’s Resolutions coming along? Have you made any changes since January 1?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. shirley beyea permalink
    January 8, 2013 5:41 am

    Hi Tammy

    I have to say i always enjoy reading your blog. Your thoughts always seem to make me ponder lol. I love the run 1000 mile goal, would it still count if i walked a 1000 as i am not a very good runner. The only resolution I made thiss year was not to let negative people bring me down or affect me. Life is way to short for negative vibes. God has blessed me with so much to let anyone else change my happiness :). That being said keep the great blogging as i consider you one o the positive people and one of my blessing (even if it is through your blog or through facebook). Happy New year and good luck in reaching your 2013 goals 🙂

  2. January 11, 2013 10:43 am

    I am so interested in hearing more about living like a salesman. You must do some posts about tips for that! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. In Your Hands « The Story of Me

Leave a Reply

