Skip to content

Will you help me to help others?

December 26, 2012

I’m embarking on a new adventure for 2013; after all it is a big year for me.  This is the year that I turn 30.  Now, there are several things I have planned to make sure that my 30th year is both memorable and fulfilling, but those details are going to be saved for another post.  This post is reserved for sharing my first endeavor of the new year.  This year I’m taking a new approach to running, starting with my next race.

I signed up to be part of Team SeriousFun at the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon in New Orleans.  What does that mean exactly?  It means that I’m not running for myself anymore.  My goal in completing this race is to make a difference in the life of a child, and I’m doing that by raising money to benefit the SeriousFun Children’s Network.

Wearing my Team SeriousFun jersey

When I lived in North Carolina, a great friend of mine worked for Victory Junction camp and graciously took me on a tour of their facility one day.  That camp, which is one of the many served by the SeriousFun Children’s Network, provides a place for children with serious and chronic medical conditions to experience the joys of summer camp.

As I talked about previously, I’m a person who likes running by myself and for myself.  However, my journey with Team SeriousFun is something I can’t do alone.  I’ve set a personal goal of raising $3300 For the SeriousFun Children’s Network by the beginning of February and this is my plea for your help.

Anything you can donate to my cause would be appreciated more than you know.  For each person who donates, I will print your name on a ribbon to wear on my shirt come race day.  And not only do I plan to honor each donor on race day, but I’m also going to share my training with you.  For every $25 donated, I’ll dedicate one of my training miles to you.

To make a donation, visit my personal fundraising page at: http://tinyurl.com/TammyRuns.  Better yet, share that link with your friends, family or running groups. My goal for 2013 is to Run for a Reason.  Will you help me to help others?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 28, 2012 4:52 pm

    I’m not a runner but I like to walk daily. I always use my Charity Miles app (www.charitymiles.org) so I can walk for a charity. I will visit your site and help by making a donation.

Leave a Reply

