Skip to content

Memory Lane

March 14, 2012

Today’s moment for 30 Day Photo Challenge comes courtesy of a little bit of spring cleaning.  What started as a routine dusting of the books on my shelves ended with me taking a little trip down memory lane.  The following book was actually given to me by a cab driver in Dallas about 6 years ago.

During my first year of grad school, I had flown home to visit my family and got stuck in Dallas for the night.  The next morning I took a cab to the airport and had the most inspiring conversation with the driver.  I had recently gone through a break up and was feeling frustrated with school and work.  While I’m not one to pour all my feelings out to a stranger, my cab driver had a way of putting me at ease.  We talked about a little bit of everything, but what I do specifically remember is that conversation left me with the feeling that I could do anything.  As I got out of the cab he reached over into the passenger seat and handed me this book.  He told me that it was one of his favorites and that he thought I’d really take it to heart.  It was an amazing gesture and I started reading the book as soon as I sat down at the airport gate.  I haven’t read it again since then but as I pulled it off the shelf to dust it all the memories of that conversation came flooding back.  And once again, I feel like I can do anything.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

