Skip to content

A little thing called courage

March 6, 2011

The past few months of my life have been a series of changes.  What I have learned is that I, like most people, get nervous when I think about change.  In fact, being the over analyzer that I am probably makes me more anxious than most when change is involved.  I have also learned, however, that I am flexible and adaptable.  No matter how freaked out I get whenever a change is made, I still find a way to adapt.

A few days ago my grandma fixed me a cup of coffee.  As I started sipping away I noticed a little gem hidden inside the cup.

Just reading that made me smile.  At this point in my life, that quote really hit home.  I’m weathering the changes and learning to adapt.  Embracing change is not easy but it has allowed me to add a whole new set of worthwhile experiences into my life.  And what made it possible is this little thing called courage.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 9:30 am

    love the story. like you, I am under going much change. for me, change is a matter of adaptability and perseverance. more than that, change breaks patterns and plans. something I learned when I did my first Ironman, it’s the journey and not the finish.

    part of my change is working in Chapel Hill NC while trying to live in Gville. I returned home from a 3 day trip Friday evening and had signed up for a bike race at river falls more than 3 weeks ago. Not feeling well, raining, I got up early and peered through my window as pondered “do I really want to do this?” NO… Tis was yesterday.

    I loaded my bike and headed out anyway. Got there to a rainy, 47 degrees. Low and behold, another 100 cyclist showed as well. Now I really feel committed! Put my dry weather gear on, raced the raced, and every loop, was worse than the first and I wanted to QUIT… I came in last for the first time in my cycling career… dead last. I could have won, I should have won, but everything about how I was feeling, stomach issues, and travel were against me.

    so what did I learn? Not much 🙂 but truly, perseverance…. when times are bad, good, up, or down is something that will develop confidence is self when you most need it.

    SO for your grandma’s coffee cup, the wisdom she shared was deliberate and not accidental. She too has her journey and stories that follow. for if you don’t listen to them, they are lost forever. have coffee with grandma more often

  2. June 23, 2011 3:55 pm

    I like that quote where did you find that looks like a bowl I think. I really like your blog and the title is awesome the story of me.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

