Skip to content

When My Dogs Have to Stay Behind: Dog Days

October 3, 2010

I love to take road trips.  And as often as possible, I like to share those road trips with my two loves: Riley and Chloe.  Unfortunately, as any dog parent knows, there are just some times when the dogs have to stay behind.  In those cases, I have to recommend Dog Days as the place to board your pet.

In the four years that I’ve lived in Greensboro, my dogs have never been boarded at any place other than Dog Days.  There are two main reasons for that: first, my dogs absolutely adore Dog Days and second, the staff at Dog Days always remember my dogs.

When Riley and Chloe are being boarded, I have to pack individual bags for each feeding that they will receive at Dog Days.  My dogs know what is happening as soon as I start filling up the plastic bags.  And the minute I say the words Dog Days, all sorts of craziness breaks out.

For anyone who doesn’t know about Dog Days, the basic concept is that it is a daycare for dogs.  You can drop your dog off for daycare in the morning and pick them up on the way home.  The dogs are placed in a large room where they can all play together throughout the day.  Webcams are also placed in the playroom so you can check in on your furry friend throughout the day.  Boarding your dog is easy because it’s just extended daycare.  They are in the playroom during the day and then put into sleeping kennels at night.  If you’re dogs are social, like mine are, then Dog Days is a great place for them to spend their time in boarding.

There’s a story my Mom used to tell about how she knew she had picked the right daycare for my brother and me.  She said that each morning,  when we would pull into the daycare center, my brother and I would jump out of the car and run inside before she could even get her seat belt off.  And that was how she knew that she had picked a good daycare.  Each time I take Riley and Chloe to Dog Days, I’m reminded of that story.  I guess it means that I picked a good daycare.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shirley permalink
    October 4, 2010 3:33 pm

    your mom is such a wise woman 🙂

  2. Frances Uribe permalink
    October 5, 2010 10:22 pm

    riley is looking mighty handsome in that picture!

Leave a Reply

