Skip to content

When I Need a Change: Salon Medusa

September 8, 2010

I believe in change.  And no I am not gearing up for some political rant.  Instead, I am here to talk about how sometimes a small change can lift your mood or give you confidence.  When I need a change I get my hair done.

I’ve been dying my hair since I was 18 so by now I’ve pretty much lost touch with whatever natural color is under there.  All I do know is that it’s dark – very, very dark.  In the many years that I’ve been dying my hair, I’ve been a redhead, a blonde and at one point even purple streaked (though that lasted about 2 seconds).  I get bored easily and since I refuse to cut it all off (been there, done that) I have come to accept that changing the color is the easiest way to drastically change my look.

When you change your hair as much as I do, and are as indecisive as I am, it is a requirement that you go to a professional.  In my four years of living in Greensboro, I’ve gotten my hair done by three different places.  My first experience was at Chakras where they proceeded to cut me.  Like, literally.  Not just my hair.  The stylist snipped my chin with his scissors.  I live by the philosophy that everyone makes mistakes but when they handed me the bill along with a napkin for my bleeding chin, I decided not to re-visit.  The second hair stylist is a family friend who has been doing my Mom’s hair for years.  But when she gave me leopard spots instead of streaks, I once again decided not to re-visit.

Finally I found myself at Salon Medusa.  I’m pretty sure that during one of my random trips downtown I saw their sign and decided to put my hair into their hands.  I can honestly say I have not been sorry.  Megan is my stylist and is amazing.  She has taken me from an almost black bob to longer blonde locks and back to brunette.  Sometimes I tell her exactly what I’m looking for and other times, more indecisive times, I tell her to make me look pretty (and to make my roots go away).  She has never failed me.

The rest of the staff is amazing as well.  They always remember your name and greet you with a friendly smile.  I’ve never felt like a stranger when I walk in the doors which is why I recommend them to as many people as I can.  If you’re as much of a hair junkie as I am or just looking for someone to shape up your hairstyle, I can’t brag about Salon Medusa enough.  It’s definitely worth paying them a visit.

And if you needed anymore proof, here’s the recent hair magic that Megan worked on me:

Before

 

After

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    September 8, 2010 12:53 pm

    I looooooove it when you make your hair darker! It’s my fave Tammy look of all time. And I’ve been around for lots of them 🙂 I miss you lady! Like a whole, whole lot!

    xoxo

    • Tammy Friedeck permalink*
      September 9, 2010 11:43 am

      I had my fun as a blonde but now it’s time for darker Tammy to come back. And you really have seen me through a LOT of hair styles. Miss you a million!

Leave a Reply

