Skip to content

When I Want to Do Something Good: American Red Cross

September 5, 2010

If you follow my tweets then you might already know about my recent blood donation debacle.  Despite that one bad experience however, I’m still a huge fan of donating blood.  I know that with each blood donation I’m doing my part to help save lives, but one of the things that keeps me coming back is the amazing customer service that I receive every time that I donate at the American Red Cross Blood Center in Greensboro.

You see until about a year ago I was terrified of giving blood.  I blame that on the fact that during college, when I was covering a blood drive for the campus TV station, I watched as a girl finished up her blood donation, stood up to go to the snack area and promptly fainted.  There’s something about that situation that has always stuck with me.

Luckily, last year my friend Audrey convinced me to give the whole blood donation thing a chance.  We set up our appointments and donated our blood.  I was quite  impressed at how smoothly the whole process went.  No fainting or anything.  But one of the things that really stayed with me was how amazingly friendly everyone was at the Blood Center.  I figured that they were just being nice since it was my first time.

After receiving my blood donor card in the mail and learning that my blood type was O Negative, I made the decision to continue giving blood.  You can donate blood every 56 days and I try to stick to that schedule.  I’ve been about 4 times now and have yet to encounter an unfriendly person at the Greensboro Red Cross Center.  In fact, the last time I visited I made it a point of counting the number of times someone told me “thank you”.  By the time I left I was up to 11.

So even after my bad experience, which really only left me bruised, I can’t say enough nice things about the Red Cross Blood Center.  The fact that they turned me into a life long donor is impressive but the thing that will always stand out is the amount of respect and appreciation they show to each and every person who walks in the door.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

