Skip to content

An End of Summer Reading List

August 4, 2010

For Christmas my Mom bought me a Kindle and it has been, by far, my favorite Christmas gift of all time.  I’ve always been a reader but was never really a “take your book with you places” kind of girl.  Sometimes it was because I was embarrassed about my strong penchant for girly fiction, and other times it was because the book was too bulky and heavy to carry around in my purse.  Granted, it was usually more of the former than the latter but that’s neither here nor there.

Since receiving my Kindle I’ve gone through more books than I ever did before.  Maybe because I no longer have to be ashamed of people seeing what I’m reading, or maybe just because I rarely leave home for extended periods of time without my Kindle.  Either way, my increased book consumption has led me to a dilemma.  What book should I read next?  I’ve had my fill of girly fiction for a while and decided to pose the following question to my Twitter followers:

The feedback I got was amazing.  And since I can’t remember anything unless it’s written down, this blog entry was born.  The following is a list (in no particular order) of books that were suggested by my Twitter followers.  They will each be downloaded to my Kindle in the near future. 

  1. Atlas Shrugged
  2. The Power of One
  3. Into the Wild
  4. After Ecstasy, the Laundry
  5. Shadow Divers
  6. The Time Traveler’s Wife

While these will probably hold me over for at least a few weeks, feel free to add your suggestions in the comments.  After all, you can never have too many books to read.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Frances Uribe permalink
    August 4, 2010 8:31 pm

    I don’t know if I ever made you read The Pillars of the Earth, but if I didn’t, you MUST! It’s my favorite book of all time. I will warn you though, it’s very long. Also, for a bit of non-fiction with a sense of humor and an insane (but true!?) outlook on the world, read Freakonomics (if you haven’t already). I’m reading the second one, Superfreakonomics, right now. It’s pretty good as well. Need more ideas? I have plenty! 🙂 Happy reading my dear friend!

    • Tammy Friedeck permalink*
      August 5, 2010 12:47 pm

      I love all the suggestions. I never read The Pillars of the Earth and I’ve been wanting to read Freakonomics for awhile. I didn’t even know there was a Superfreakonomics but that’s officially on the list now too. Thanks for the feedback! Miss ya!

Leave a Reply

