Skip to content

I’m just me

June 15, 2010

I intend to do a lot of talking about myself in this blog.  I mean, I am going to be talking about my opinions on my experiences after all.  Therefore I think it’s only fair for me to share a little bit about myself first.

I’m the oldest of two kids and the only daughter.  Because of this, I’m spoiled by my grandparents (especially my grandpa) and my parents think they have to protect me from the world.  It’s a situation I’ve learned to live with.  But all in all I love my family dearly and though they live in Texas, we’ve remained pretty close.  This is me (in the pink dress) with two of my cousins.  As you can see, I was probably talking or laughing when this picture was taken, and since then not much has changed in that respect.  I also don’t wear a lot of pink dresses anymore but I’ll always be a girly-girl at heart.  

I’m not going to drag you through a whole history of me growing up.  Instead I’ll just fast forward to more recent times.  This is me now.

I’ve been living in Greensboro, North Carolina for four years and I absolutely love it (minus the family being far away).  The first two years that I lived here were pretty much taken up with graduate school and working, so I didn’t get a chance to explore a lot of what the city and the state have to offer.  Now that I actually have a little more free time I’m determined to see and do it all.

Traveling is one of my favorite things to do.  Whether it be around the country or just around the state, I’m happiest when I’m experiencing new things.  Last year I tackled one of my biggest adventures and that was to travel around the country running half marathons.  I set a goal to do six half marathons in 2009 in order to earn the Super Six medal.  After traveling and running in Nashville, Seattle, Chicago, Virginia Beach, San Antonio and Las Vegas I can proudly display my Super Six medal.  Earning that medal has been one of my biggest achievements.  One thing I regret is that I didn’t start this blog a year earlier.  Recording my thoughts and experiences as I walked (or ran) that journey would have been priceless.

And I can’t forget to mention the support system that I rely on every day.  My household revolves around my two fur babies, Riley and Chloe.  They are what I look forward to coming home to each day.  As sad as it might sound, they can crack me up more than most of the people I know.  I truly believe that dogs are the greatest stress reliever.  This picture is a very rare sighting of the two of them sleeping at the same time.  It took them being at Doggie Day Care the whole day to reach this level of calmness so I snapped a picture while I had the chance. 

And that is me.  I’m just a dog loving, over analyzing, constantly laughing runner who is already looking for the next adventure.  And I’m hoping to write it all down this time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaclyn permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:32 pm

    Oh my gosh your super six medal is amazing! Congrats on the new blog!

  2. Jennie Barnes permalink
    June 15, 2010 4:57 pm

    I Love it! Nice to have a little personal insight.

  3. June 25, 2010 9:24 am

    Found you on Twitter via various mutual ppl we follow in the Triad and moseyed on over to your blog… as a once-a-year half marathoner, I just wanted to say I am so impressed that you ran six in one year! What an accomplishment!!

    Also, ditto on the dogs beating out human companions sometimes. Mine is definitely my stress reliever too!

    Look forward to reading more.

    meg (dancindeac on twitter)

Leave a Reply

